#### MAJOR DECISIONS OF COUNCIL

The 249<sup>th</sup> (special) meeting of Council considered the report of the Committee for Rationalisation of Academic, Registrar and Finance Department and approved the following for implementation:

# A. STATUS OF ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS IN THE COLLEGE OF ART AND BUILT ENVIRONMENT

- i. The Departments of Integrated Rural Art and Industry and Industrial Art should be merged;
- ii. The status quo for the existing Faculties (Faculty of Art and Faculty of Built Environment) should remain.

# B. STATUS OF DEPARTMENTS/FACULTIES IN THE COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES

- i. The College of Agriculture and Natural Resources should have two (2) Faculties namely;
  - Faculty of Agriculture
  - Faculty of Renewable Natural Resources
- ii. The Faculty of Forest Resources Technology is to be converted into a Department under the Faculty of Renewable Natural Resources and run the underlisted programmes:
  - Land Reclamation & Rehabilitation
  - Wood Processing & Marketing
  - Ecotourism & Forest Recreation
  - Social Forestry

## C. STATUS OF DEPARTMENTS/SCHOOLS IN THE COLLEGE OF HEALTH SCIENCES

- i. The Departments of Medical Laboratory Technology and Medical Imaging should be merged into one Department to be named as the **DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL DIAGNOSTICS.**
- ii. The Department of Medical Diagnostics will host two (2) Programmes, namely BSc Medical Laboratory Technology and BSc Medical Imaging Technology.
- iii. The status quo of the School of Veterinary Medicine will be maintained for one academic year within which the following are to be adhered to:
  - The status of Heads of Departments in the School is to be changed to Coordinators;
  - Within the 2018/2019 Academic Year, the Dean is mandated to seek funding and collaboration to support the growth and Development of the School.

#### D. STATUS OF SCHOOL OF MEDICAL SCIENCES AND DENTAL SCHOOL

i. The School of Dentistry to be merged with the School of Medical Sciences and renamed as **SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AND DENTISTRY** 

### E. ESTABLISHMENT OF A NEW DEPARTMENT

- i. The following Programmes (BSc Statistics, Actuarial Science and Mathematics) should continue to run under the Department of Mathematics for the 2018/2019 Academic Year.
- ii. At the commencement of the 2019/2020 Academic year, BSc Actuarial Science and BSc Statistics will be weaned off and merged to become an independent Department.
- iii. BSc Environmental Science will continue to be nurtured by the Department of Theoretical and Applied Biology for the 2018/2019 Academic Year and will be weaned off to become an independent Department at the commencement of the 2019/2020 Academic Year.

## ESTABLISHMENT OF THE DEPARTMENT OF TELECOMMUNICATION ENGINEERING IN THE COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

- i. With effect from the 2019/2020 Academic Year, the Telecommunication Programme should be weaned off the Department of Electrical/Electronic Engineering and be made an independent Department to be called the Department of Telecommunication Engineering.
- ii. The College should therefore set up the necessary structures required, including funding for a smooth take off of the Department in the 2019/2020 Academic Year.